Posted by: SuziTungsten | November 24, 2007

29 THE TICKET, THE EXPERIENCE, THE PASSION

So this it was – the great trip through Scandinavia, which turned out to be a great experience. In summer 2005 I travelled across Europe with Anne. Back then, we thought that this would be a once-in-a-lifetime experience, which we would later tell our children and grandchildren about. We will do so, for sure. But it was even more. It’s probably the beginning of a whole new view on travelling. You cannot and never get to know places and countries really well as traveller. This is probably only possible if you live there for a time. As backpacker, rucksack tourist, railer or whatever the experiences are more intense, though. One is closer to what really makes the difference about a place or a country; one is closer to the locals when travelling together with them in a train. And it’s exactly this what is the key to this way of travelling for me and maybe many others. When I look back now I’m overcome by a mixture of joy, sentimentality and satisfaction. Somehow I can’t believe that all this was true. It’s rather like a dream that feels confusingly real. Sure, I could have done so many things differently: Another route, other stops, another season of the year, a travel companion and so on and so forth, but the way I had planned and finally done it feels absolutely right for me. The rout I had chosen led me to many wonderful, and sometimes not so wonderful, places. Coming back is most probable. There were places along my way, which I could only just see from the train. Some amazed me and made me curious. I would like to go back there and have a closer look at them. Maybe even during another time of the year than in summer. Although, the light, Nordic summer nights are something I really appreciate and love now. It was also those that made this trip occasionally a real eye-opener. I’m doubting, though, that all these impressions would have been that intense, if I had travelled with a travel companion. It’s great to travel with a person you know and like, but you’re rather fixed on each other. I could decide independently what I wanted to see or do and where and when I wanted to do this. And I could really enjoy it. On the other hand, I was always on my own and had no one to talk to about the nice things I experienced. This is also the charm of travelling alone, though. This date with my solitude had me learn a lot – about other people and also about myself. Therefore this trip was some sort of self-discovery, as well. The absolutely unbeatable advantage of travelling alone is the fact that you meet and get to know a lot of people. Very few are terrible, some are strange, but most are absolutely adorable: Anabel, Stephan, Csilla, Katrin. I have to thank all of you for the wonderful hours I was allowed to spend with you. Meeting you and talking to you was really the icing on my ScanRail cake. The trip would have been just half as great without you guys. But I have to thank all the nameless persons I met, too­: the Australian girl in Narvik and in the night train to Berlin, the guy from Berlin in Kabelvåg, the railer from Serbia, the girl from Hongkong, just to name a few. Unfortunately, you sometimes forget to ask the name of somebody, but you may never forget that you these people. All of them, with and without a name, made this trip, which was so loaded with fantastic, breathtakingly beautiful places, what it was in the end: a great, personal adventure. Every year hundreds of backpackers are travelling in Scandinavia. All experience wonderful things. So I’m not an exception, my trip is nothing special. During these three weeks, though, I tried to see this world with my heart. And it was not my hand but my heart that led the pen during writing. This isn’t a great piece of literature, but maybe it’s fun reading for someone or someone gets motivated or even inspired. Then the “quest” would be more than fulfilled. This world is just wonderful, and we should discover and protect it. Travelling helps us broaden our minds and teaches us to be tolerant towards foreign persons and things. Travelling makes us grow personally, and sometimes even dreams come true. Scandinavia on rails is such a dream for me that came true, and I’m afraid that my whimsical alarm clock wakes me up rudely. Sometimes I turn to these memories about this great time and I just want to turn back time. But this is not possible – and this is good. I know what this trip gave to me. And when the time is right I will pack my backpack and set out again…

What you keep in mind are neither the many people you meet nor the wonderful places you visit. It’s how these people and places touch you…

bild119.jpg

Suzi Tungsten

P.S.: In great gratitude and with all love of this world, to Hans Woop, to my grandpa Hans Pitschula († 1994) and to my grandma Ruth Pitschula († 1993)


Leave a comment

Categories